The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for hunting throughout the state. Waterfowl hunting for Black Duck, American Coot, Pintails, Mallards, Mergansers, Redheads, Brant, Wood Duck, Scoters, Eiders, Canada Geese, Snow Geese, Scaup, Teal, Shovelers, Gadwall, Wigeon, Goldeneye, Ring-neck, Bufflehead, Ruddies, Mottled, Fulvous Whistling, and Long-tailed Ducks is allowed during season and within specified limits in three state parks (Cape Henlopen, Delaware Seashore, and Fort Dupont/Grass Dale) as well as 12 of the states 19 public hunting areas (Wildlife Management Areas).

For detailed information, including detailed maps on hunting areas, as well as hunting seasons, bag limits, and licensing requirements please contact the Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife or visit their web site at

In addition, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service operates two National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) in Delaware -- Bombay Hook and Prime Hook -- Both of which allow waterfowl hunting in season. Please contact the refuge for specifics or visit their web site through the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services' refuge system web site at