The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission is responsible for hunting throughout the state. Waterfowl hunting for Black or Mottled Duck, American Coot, Pintails, Mallards, Mergansers, Redheads, Wood Duck, Scoters, Canada Geese, Snow and Blue Geese, Fulvous Whistling Duck, and Scaup is allowed during season and within specified limits in some 39 designated Waterfowl Management Areas (WMAs).

For detailed information, including maps on hunting areas, as well as hunting seasons, bag limits, and licensing requirements please contact the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conversation Commission or visit their web site at www.floridaconservation.org.

In addition, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service operates 20 National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) in Florida that are open to the public -- Lake Woodruff, Merrit Island, Archie Carr, Pelican Island, Hobe Sound, Arthur R. Marshall, Loxahatchee, National Key Deer, Great White Heron, Key West, Ten Thousand Islands, Florida Panther, J.N. Darling, Egmont Key, Cnabahowitzka, Crystal River, Cedar Keys, Lower Suwannee, St. Vincent and St. Marks -- Of which four (Merrit Island, Arthur R. Marshall, Loxahatchee, and Ten Thousand Islands) allow waterfowl hunting during season. Please contact the refuges for specifics or visit their web site through the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services' refuge system web site at www.fws.gov/refuges.